National Testing Agency · JEE (Main) 2026
JEE Main photo and signature size
JEE Main 2026 wants a colour passport JPG of 10–200 KB, 80 percent face on white, and a signature JPG of 10–100 KB. No pixels are stated.
Your image never leaves this phone. The resize happens on this device. ExamPicResizer does not receive the file.
Part of this preset is not a number printed in the notice. The table says which part. If the form disagrees, follow the form.
Prepare the file
No official pixel size. The long edge is scaled to 1,000 pixels so a phone camera file can fall inside the KB range. Change the crop if you need the face to fill more of the frame.
Target 10–200 KB · part of this target is not printed in the notice
What the notice says
The JEE (Main) 2026 bulletin, in the application step, asks for a recent colour passport photograph with 80 percent of the face visible, including the ears, without a mask, on a white background. The file is JPG or JPEG, 10 KB to 200 KB.
The signature is JPG or JPEG, clearly legible, 10 KB to 100 KB. The same paragraph gives no width, height, or DPI for either file. A live photograph is captured while you fill the form. The January and April sessions share the application number described in that bulletin.
| File | Format | Size | Kilobytes | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Photograph | Live camera | No file. Captured in the form. | — | Live capture |
| Passport photograph | JPEG | Not stated in the notice | 10–200 KB | Check the notice |
| Signature | JPEG | Not stated in the notice | 10–100 KB | Check the notice |
Status colours: green means the figure was read from the notice, red means part of the row is not printed there.
Passport photograph
No official pixel size. The long edge is scaled to 1,000 pixels so a phone camera file can fall inside the KB range. Change the crop if you need the face to fill more of the frame.
- Recent colour passport photograph, 80 percent face including ears, no mask, white background.
- JPG or JPEG, 10 KB to 200 KB.
- The bulletin does not print a pixel width, height, or DPI.
- A live photograph is captured in the form as well.
- Pixel dimensions. The bulletin fixes format and kilobytes, not pixels.
Signature
1,000 pixels on the long edge is only so the compressor has a definite file to write.
- JPG or JPEG, clearly legible, 10 KB to 100 KB.
- No pixel size or DPI is printed.
- Pixel dimensions. The bulletin does not state any.
Why these files get rejected
- Face smaller than about 80 percent of the photograph, or ears cropped out.
- A mask, or a background that is not white.
- Photograph outside 10–200 KB, or signature outside 10–100 KB.
- Uploading another person’s photograph or signature. The bulletin says there may be no correction window.
- A live photo that does not show the face clearly.
Questions candidates actually ask
What is the JEE Main 2026 photo size?
JPG or JPEG between 10 KB and 200 KB. Colour, 80 percent face including ears, no mask, white background. No pixel dimensions.
What is the JEE Main signature size?
JPG or JPEG between 10 KB and 100 KB, clearly legible. Pixels are not specified. This is higher than the old 4–30 KB figures still copied on some sites.
Do Session 1 and Session 2 need two photographs?
The 2026 bulletin says the application number is used for both sessions. Follow the correction window if NTA opens one. Do not assume a second upload unless the form asks.
Where are the official lines?
In the JEE (Main) 2026 Information Bulletin, application procedure, step 2. The PDF linked on this page is the file read on 8 November 2026.
Where this was read
JEE (Main) 2026 Information Bulletin, application procedure, scanned images
JEE Main information bulletin page
Last checked against that document 2026-11-08. Notice date 2025-11-02.